We are delighted to announce our United Kingdom IFLR1000 Women Leaders for 2022. The fifth edition is the most comprehensive yet, featuring around 1000 lawyers globally, a 33% increase from the number of lawyers recognized last year. It is a privilege to be able recognise the work of all the outstanding women. 

IFLR1000 Women Leaders is an elite ranking category reserved for the most prominent women lawyers across the world working in the areas of law IFLR1000 researchesThis is an exclusive group of lawyers with outstanding reputations within their markets who either have expertise and experience of working on complex deals, or who have risen to hold leadership roles with their firms or their practices. For some individuals both these things are true. 


Research methodology  

IFLR1000's research teams in Hong Kong, London, New York and Sofia collectively analyse thousands of research submissions, conduct thousands of interviews with law firm partners, and survey tens of thousands of clients to determine IFLR1000's Women Leaders. 

Each year Women Leaders uses the previous submission cycle's data for the research. Women Leaders 2022 will be based primarily on submissions made in 2021. We consider all female lawyers working in our areas of research as Women Leaders but firms that participate in our research (see guidelinescan nominate individuals and individual lawyers can nominate themselves by taking our Lawyer Survey. 


Featured Women Leaders

Samantha Hutchinson
Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft
Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft partner Samantha Hutchinson is incredibly well known in the market for her work in fund financing, specifically with subscription and leveraged deals, though she has experience across all fund finance products. Not only recognized externally for her work, but internally as well, she was recently named Head of Fund Finance, UK. 


Women Leaders 2022 Profiles

The below list contains links to Women Leaders organized by firm.

If you have questions about the research process, please contact Chynna Lewis: chynna.lewis@iflr1000.com

If you would like to discuss how we can help you promote you or your firm's achievements, please contact Emily Kyriacou: emily.kyriacou@delinian.com


Akin Gump

Lois Deasey

Amy Kennedy

Mary Lavelle

Helen Marshall

Liz Osborne

Emma Simmonds

Ezra Zahabi

Allen & Overy

Parya Badie

Cathy Bell-Walker

Angela Clist

Lorraine Bayliss

Jeanette Cruz

Emma Dwyer

Denise Gibson

Jocelyn Land

Jennifer Marshall

Lucy Oddy

Sally Onions

Kate Sumpter



Helen Burton

Karen Davies

Anna Delgado

Julia Derrick

Olga Galazoula

Naomi Horton

Sarah Sivyour


Burges Salmon

Brioney Thomas

Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft

Suzanne Bell

Samantha Hutchinson


Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton

Polina Lyadnova


Clifford Chance

Emma Folds

Jessica Littlewood

Caroline Meinertz

Monica Sah

Nicola Wherity

CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang

Rita Lowe

Cathy Pitt

Cravath Swaine & Moore

Alyssa Caples


Debevoise & Plimpton

Katherine Ashton


Eversheds Sutherland

Michaela Walker



Kirstene Baillie

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Simone Bono

Denise Ryan

Claire Wills


Fried Frank Harris Shriver & Jacobson

Kate Downey


Goodwin Procter

Samantha Coghlan


Herbert Smith Freehills

Amy Geddes

Jenny Stainsby


Hogan Lovells

Penny Angell

Deborah Gregory

Rachel Kent

Jones Day

Vica Irani


Kirkland & Ellis

Lisa Cawley

Kirsteen Nicol

Elaine Nolan

Latham & Watkins

Lene Malthasen

Tracy Edmonson

Jennifer Engelhardt

Jocelyn Seitzman

Yen Sum



Aedamar Comiskey

Fiona Hobbs

Rebecca Jarvis

Elaine Keats

Charlotte Morgan

Pam Shores

Aisling Zarraga



Lora Froud


Rebecca Marques

Karen McMaster


Morgan Lewis & Bockius 

Ayesha Waheed

Norton Rose Fulbright

Farmida Bi

Madhavi Gosavi

Sandrine Sauvel

Paul Hastings

Mei Lian

Diala Minott


Reed Smith

Tamara Box

Delphine Currie

Bronwen Jones


Ropes & Gray

Helen Croke

Eve Ellis

Jane Rogers

Kiran Sharma

Carol Van der Vorst


Shearman & Sterling

Maegen Morrison

Sanja Udovicic


Sidley Austin 

Rachpal Thind


Simpson Thacher & Bartlett

Clare Gaskell

Wheatly MacNamara

Amy Mahon

Sinead O'Shea


Slaughter and May 

Deborah Finkler

Azadeh Nassiri

Sarah Paterson

Caroline Phillips


Stephenson Harwood

Lisa Marks


Sullivan & Cromwell

Vanessa Blackmore


Watson Farley & Williams

Lindsey Keeble

Weil Gotshal & Manges

Jacky Kelly

Reena Gogna


White & Case

Melissa Butler

Caroline Miller Smith

Laura Sizemore


Willkie Farr & Gallagher

Claire McDaid