Banwo & Ighodalo

Nigeria

Address:
48, Awolowo Road
South-West Ikoyi
Lagos
Nigeria

+234 9060003561-2; 8050875883; 8092714452; 9020524921


Key contacts:

Managing Partner: Mr. Ken Etim
Contact this lawyer

Quick facts:

Number of lawyers: 70+
Network memberships include: Nigerian Bar Association, International Bar Association, Loan Market Association, African Private Equity & Venture Capital Association, Institute of Chartered Secretaries & Administrators, UK, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, Nigeria and UK, Association of International Petroleum Negotiators
Languages: English, French, several Nigerian languages


Banwo & Ighodalo was founded on 1st February, 1991 by Femi Olubanwo & Asue Ighodalo. The firm is a leading full-service law firm in Nigeria.

Banwo & Ighodalo has evolved and we continue to equip ourselves to serve our clients better and provide exceptional results.

We are known in our markets for excellent mastery of legal issues and the development of creative solutions. Our lawyers are young, dynamic and driven; and we deliberately recruit and train for innovation, knowledge and the ability to create solutions for our clients.

The Firm is consistently listed as a 1st-tier law firm and a firm of choice in Capital Markets, Mergers & Acquisition, Corporate Finance, Energy & Natural Resources, Litigation, Arbitration & Alternative Dispute Resolution and Intellectual Property. 

Both the firm on one hand, and its partners and some associates on the other hand, are ranked in several leading Nigerian and international legal directories.

  • Capital markets
  • Corporate and M&A
  • Private equity 
  • Project finance
  • Restructuring and insolvency
  • Banking and finance
  • Energy & Natural Resources
  • Intellectual Property
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Shipping, Aviation & International Trade

  • Oil and gas
  • Shipping
  • Banking
  • Energy & Natural resources
  • Government and public policy
  • Transport
  • Mining
  • Aviation
  • Financial services
  • Real estate
  • Tech and telecoms

Litigation, Arbitration & Alternative Dispute Resolution

Abimbola Akeredolu (SAN) – abimbolaakeredolu@banwo-ighodalo.com

Chinedum Umeche – cumeche@banwo-ighodalo.com

Rahman Oshodi – roshodi@banwo-ighodalo.com

 

Energy & Natural Resources

Ken Etim – ketim@banwo-ighodalo.com

Stella Duru – sduru@banwo-ighodalo.com

Kehinde Ojuawo – kojuawo@banwo-ighodalo.com

Akindeji Oyebode – aoyebode@banwo-ighodalo.com

 

Intellectual Property & Technology

Femi Olubanwo – folubanwo@banwo-ighodalo.com

Olumide Osundolire – oosundolire@banwo-ighodalo.com

Chinasa Uwanna – cuwanna@banwo-ighodalo.com

 

Corporate, Securities & Finance

Asue Ighodalo – aighodalo@banwo-ighodalo.com

Ayotunde Owoigbe – aowoigbe@banwo-ighodalo.com

Azeezah Muse-Sadiq – asadiq@banwo-ighodalo.com

Seyi Bella – sbella@banwo-ighodalo.com

Isa Alade – ialade@banwo-ighodalo.com

 

Shipping, Aviation & International Trade

Ken Etim – ketim@banwo-ighodalo.com

Tunji Adeyemi – tadeyemi@banwo-ighodalo.com

Kashimana Tsumba – ktsumba@banwo-ighodalo.com

  • Advised Unilever Nigeria Plc in connection with the divestment of its Spreads business to KKR as part of Unilever group of companies’ divestment of its global Spreads business (excluding the Unilever South Africa’s Spreads business) for EUR6.85 billion to KKR.
  • Joint Solicitor to Access Bank Plc in connection with its merger scheme of merger with Diamond Bank Plc. The transaction resulted in Access Bank Plc being the surviving entity. 
  • Solicitor to the Listing in connection with MTN Nigeria Communications Plc’s listing of its ordinary shares by way of introduction on the Premium Board of the Nigeria Stock Exchange.
  • Solicitors to the Transaction in connection with the establishment of a N150 billion Structured Note Programme by Stanbic IBTC Bank Plc and the issuance of N30 billion notes (being the Series 1 notes) thereunder.
  • Advised Dangote Cement Plc in connection with its establishment of a N150 billion Commercial Paper Programme and the issuance of N50 billion notes thereunder.
  • Co-Transaction Counsel to the Federal Government of Nigeria in connection with its issuance of N100 billion Sukuk in the domestic capital market through a special purpose vehicle, FGN Roads Sukuk Company 1 PLC.
  • We advised FirstRand Merchant Bank of South Africa (acting through its Rand Merchant Bank Division) in connection with a US$10,997,760 (Ten Million, Nine Hundred and Ninety-Seven Thousand, Seven Hundred and Sixty United States Dollars) term loan facility advanced to APD Limited (a subsidiary of AXA Mansard Plc) for the purpose of refinancing existing debt obligations incurred in respect of the property known as Mansard Place.
  • We are currently acting as Lenders’ Nigerian Legal Counsel in connection with certain term loan facilities to be advanced to two (2) special purpose vehicles established by a Sponsor for the purposes of financing the acquisition of a forty-five percent (45%) participating interest in certain Oil Mining Leases, Gas Processing Plants and ancillary oil and gas infrastructure.

Abuja Office

Ground Floor (Left Wing) 

Afri-Investment House 

Plot 2669, Aguiyi-Ironsi Street 

Maitama

Abuja

Nigeria

 

T: + 09-2912127

E: banwigho@banwo-ighodalo.com

W: www.banwo-ighodalo.com