Banwo & Ighodalo

Nigeria

Address:
48, Awolowo Road
South-West Ikoyi
Lagos
Nigeria

+234 8139841360; 8139841361; 8139841362; 8139841363


Key contacts:

Managing Partner: Mr. Ken Etim
Contact this lawyer

Quick facts:

Number of lawyers: 80+
Network memberships include: Nigerian Bar Association, International Bar Association, Loan Market Association, African Private Equity & Venture Capital Association, Institute of Chartered Secretaries & Administrators, UK, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, Nigeria and UK, Association of International Petroleum Negotiators
Languages: English, French, several Nigerian languages


Banwo & Ighodalo was founded on 1st February, 1991.The firm is a leading full-service law firm in Nigeria and it is structured as a partnership, currently comprising twelve (12) Partners, including a Senior Advocate of Nigeria. The firm is a leading full- service law firm in Nigeria.

Banwo & Ighodalo has evolved and we continue to equip ourselves to serve our clients better and provide exceptional results.

We are known in our markets for excellent mastery of legal issues and the development of creative solutions. Our lawyers are young, dynamic and driven; and we deliberately recruit and train for innovation, knowledge and the ability to create solutions for our clients.

The Firm is consistently listed as a 1st- tier law firm and a firm of choice in Capital Markets, Mergers & Acquisition, Corporate Finance, Fintech, Energy & Natural Resources, Litigation, Arbitration & Alternative Dispute Resolution, Intellectual Property and Information Technology. Our Shipping, Aviation and International Trade practice is also highly recommended.

Both the firm on one hand, and its partners and some associates on the other hand, are ranked in several leading Nigerian and international legal directories.

  • Capital markets
  • Corporate and M&A
  • Private equity
  • Project finance
  • Fintech
  • Restructuring and insolvency
  • Banking and finance
  • Energy & natural resources
  • Intellectual property
  • Technology and entertainment
  • Litigation
  • Arbitration and dispute resolution
  • Shipping, aviation & international trade

  • Oil and gas
  • Shipping
  • Banking
  • Energy & natural resources
  • Government and public policy
  • Transport
  • Mining
  • Aviation
  • Financial services
  • Real estate
  • Infrastructure
  • Consumer good and manufacturing
  • Technology and telecoms

Litigation, Arbitration & Alternative Dispute Resolution
Abimbola Akeredolu (SAN) – abimbolaakeredolu@banwo-ighodalo.com
Chinedum Umeche – cumeche@banwo-ighodalo.com
Adeola Agunbiade-Adeyemi - aagunbiade@banwo-ighodalo.com

Energy & Natural Resources
Ken Etim – ketim@banwo-ighodalo.com
Stella Duru – sduru@banwo-ighodalo.com
Kehinde Ojuawo – kojuawo@banwo-ighodalo.com
Akindeji Oyebode – aoyebode@banwo-ighodalo.com

Intellectual Property & Technology
Femi Olubanwo – folubanwo@banwo-ighodalo.com
Olumide Osundolire – oosundolire@banwo-ighodalo.com
Chinasa Uwanna – cuwanna@banwo-ighodalo.com

Corporate, Securities & Finance
Asue Ighodalo – aighodalo@banwo-ighodalo.com
Ayotunde Owoigbe – aowoigbe@banwo-ighodalo.com
Azeezah Muse-Sadiq – asadiq@banwo-ighodalo.com
Seyi Bella – sbella@banwo-ighodalo.com
Isa Alade – ialade@banwo-ighodalo.com
Toyin Bashir – tbashir@banwo-ighodalo.com

Shipping, Aviation & International Trade
Ken Etim – ketim@banwo-ighodalo.com
Tunji Adeyemi – tadeyemi@banwo-ighodalo.com
Kehinde Ojuawo – kojuawo@banwo-ighodalo.com

  • We advised the United States International Development Finance Corporation (“DFC”) in connection with the provision of a term loan facility of up to US$35,000,000 (Thirty-Five Million United States Dollars) to Txtlight Power Solutions Limited (as the “Borrower”), which will be applied towards the Borrower’s business of selling and leasing rooftop solar kits to consumers in Nigeria.
  • Transaction Counsel in connection with Interswitch Africa One Plc’s, (a special purpose vehicle set up by Interswitch Limited)’s N30,000,000,000 (Thirty Billion Naira) Debt Issuance Programme and its N23,000,000,000 (Twenty Billion Naira) Series 1 Bonds issuance thereunder. The Bonds were issued via Interswitch Africa One Plc and were oversubscribed. The bonds are listed on the NSE marking the first bond issuance by a Technology company in Nigeria.
  • We acted as Solicitors to the Transaction in connection with the establishment of a N100, 000,000,000 Multi-Currency Commercial Paper Issuance Programme (“Programme”) by Stanbic IBTC Bank Plc. In this regard, we prepared the Agency Agreement, the Dealer Agreement and the Deed of Covenant as well as reviewed the Programme Memorandum to ensure compliance with applicable laws, regulations and other market/industry standards
  • We acted as Nigerian Counsel to the AppZone Group, Africa’s leading provider of software solutions to financial institutions, in connection with the up to US$10,000,000 in mezzanine financing provided to AppZone Mauritius Limited by Cardinalstone Capital Advisors Growth Fund LLP (“Cardinalstone”) (the “Series A Funding”). The financing was comprised of three tranches: equity financing (in the amount of US$5,000,000), a convertible bridge loan facility (in the amount of US$2,000,000), and the purchase of share warrants (in the amount of US$3,000,000)
  • We are acting as Project Counsel to Bank of China, Hebei Branch, Oilserve-Oando-CFCHEC Consortium and Brentex-CPP Consortium in connection with the financing and construction of the Ajaokuta-Kaduna-Kano Pipeline Project, which is the largest pipeline network in Nigeria.
  • We advised SecureID on the Nine Hundred Million Naira (N900, 000,000) concession for the provision of e-ticketing system for the Abuja-Kaduna Rail line, being the first electronic ticketing solution for the rail system in Nigeria