Banwo & Ighodalo

Nigeria

Address:
48, Awolowo Road
South-West Ikoyi
Lagos
Nigeria

+234 9060003561-2; 8050875883; 8092714452; 9020524921


Key contacts:

Managing Partner: Mr. Ken Etim
Contact this lawyer

Quick facts:

Number of lawyers: 70+
Network memberships include: Nigerian Bar Association, International Bar Association, Loan Market Association, African Private Equity & Venture Capital Association, Institute of Chartered Secretaries & Administrators, UK, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, Nigeria and UK, Association of International Petroleum Negotiators
Languages: English, French, several Nigerian languages


Banwo & Ighodalo was founded on 1st February, 1991 by Femi Olubanwo & Asue Ighodalo. The firm is a leading full-service law firm in Nigeria.

Banwo & Ighodalo has evolved and we continue to equip ourselves to serve our clients better and provide exceptional results.

We are known in our markets for excellent mastery of legal issues and the development of creative solutions. Our lawyers are young, dynamic and driven; and we deliberately recruit and train for innovation, knowledge and the ability to create solutions for our clients.

The Firm is consistently listed as a 1st-tier law firm and a firm of choice in Capital Markets, Mergers & Acquisition, Corporate Finance, Energy & Natural Resources, Litigation, Arbitration & Alternative Dispute Resolution and Intellectual Property. 

Both the firm on one hand, and its partners and some associates on the other hand, are ranked in several leading Nigerian and international legal directories.

  • Capital markets
  • Corporate and M&A
  • Private equity 
  • Project finance
  • Restructuring and insolvency
  • Banking and finance
  • Energy & Natural Resources
  • Intellectual Property
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Shipping, Aviation & International Trade

  • Oil and gas
  • Shipping
  • Banking
  • Energy & Natural resources
  • Government and public policy
  • Transport
  • Mining
  • Aviation
  • Financial services
  • Real estate
  • Tech and telecoms

Litigation, Arbitration & Alternative Dispute Resolution

Abimbola Akeredolu (SAN) – abimbolaakeredolu@banwo-ighodalo.com

Chinedum Umeche – cumeche@banwo-ighodalo.com

Rahman Oshodi – roshodi@banwo-ighodalo.com

 

Energy & Natural Resources

Ken Etim – ketim@banwo-ighodalo.com

Stella Duru – sduru@banwo-ighodalo.com

Kehinde Ojuawo – kojuawo@banwo-ighodalo.com

Akindeji Oyebode – aoyebode@banwo-ighodalo.com

 

Intellectual Property & Technology

Femi Olubanwo – folubanwo@banwo-ighodalo.com

Olumide Osundolire – oosundolire@banwo-ighodalo.com

Chinasa Uwanna – cuwanna@banwo-ighodalo.com

 

Corporate, Securities & Finance

Asue Ighodalo – aighodalo@banwo-ighodalo.com

Ayotunde Owoigbe – aowoigbe@banwo-ighodalo.com

Azeezah Muse-Sadiq – asadiq@banwo-ighodalo.com

Seyi Bella – sbella@banwo-ighodalo.com

Isa Alade – ialade@banwo-ighodalo.com

 

Shipping, Aviation & International Trade

Ken Etim – ketim@banwo-ighodalo.com

Tunji Adeyemi – tadeyemi@banwo-ighodalo.com

Kashimana Tsumba – ktsumba@banwo-ighodalo.com

  • Nigerian Lenders’ Counsel to Natixis Bank in relation to an up to US$1,050,000,000 (One Billion, Fifty Million United States Dollars) financing framework facility made available to Total E&P Nigeria for funding its capex and working capital needs.
  • Nigerian Lenders’ Counsel to the ADB in relation to a US$150,000,000 (One Hundred and Fifty Million United States Dollars) line of credit facility advanced to United Bank for Africa Plc for the purpose of on-lending to various infrastructural projects as well as small and medium sized enterprises
  • Nigerian legal Counsel to the ADB in relation to a N2, 364,000,000 (Two Billion, Three Hundred and Sixty Four Million Naira) loan advanced to Lapo Microfinance Bank Limited.
  • Nigerian counsel to a syndicate of lenders (including Barclays Bank Plc) in connection with the refinancing of a US$275,000,000 (Two Hundred and Seventy Five Million United States Dollars) revolving credit facility advanced to Unatrac Holding Limited.
  • Nigerian Lenders’ Counsel to a syndicate of Nigerian and international banks in connection with a Reserve Based Lending and Corporate Facility of up to US$1,700,000,000 (One Billion Seven Hundred Million United States Dollars), advanced to the Seplat Group.
  • Nigerian Lenders’ Counsel to a syndicate of lenders in connection with (i) an up to US $1,270,000,000 (One Billion Two Hundred and Seventy Million United States Dollars) reserve-based lending facility; (ii) an up to US $180,000,000 (One Hundred and Eighty Million United States Dollars) term loan facility; and (iii) an up to $150,000,000 (One Hundred and Fifty Million United States Dollars) revolving credit facility advanced to Trans-Niger Oil & Gas Limited.
  • Borrower’s Nigerian Counsel in connection with a US$600,000,000 (Six Hundred Million United States Dollars) senior secured revolving reserve based lending facility advanced by Standard Bank and its syndicate of co-lenders.
  • Borrower’s Nigerian Counsel in connection with two bridge facilities in a total sum of US$765,000,000 (Seven Hundred and Sixty Five Million United States Dollars)  and a Guarantee Facility in the sum of US$765 000,000 (Seven Hundred and Sixty Five Million United States Dollars) obtained from J.P. Morgan Chase Bank and Standard Bank to part finance and guarantee Shoreline Natural Resources Limited’s acquisition of a combined 45% participating interest in OML 30 from the Shell Petroleum Development Company, Total E&P Nigeria Limited and Nigerian Agip Oil Company.
  • Borrower’s Counsel in relation of US$1,278,010,000 (One Billion, Two Hundred and Seventy Eight Million, Ten Thousand United States Dollars) note issuance facility advanced by a syndicate of financial institutions.  At the time, this facility was the largest syndication undertaken by a consortium of Nigerian banks.
  • Lenders’ Counsel to a syndicate of banks in connection with a US$1,500,000,000 (One Billion, Five Hundred Million United States Dollars) multiple term loan facility provided to three entities within the Seadrill Group to fund capital expenditure requirements in relation to its drilling operations.
  • Lender’s Counsel in connection with a €7,373,750 buyer credit facility advanced by Bpifrance to Caverton Helicopters Limited to to part-finance the cost of procuring a full flight simulator for an Augusta Westland 139 helicopter together with ancillary services.
  • Borrower’s Counsel in connection with a term facility of N5,500,000,000.00 (Five Billion, Five Hundred Million Naira) advanced by Parthian Partners Limited to Beth-Adorn Nigeria Limited for acquisition of direct and indirect shares in UTL Trust Management Services Limited.

Abuja Office

Ground Floor (Left Wing) 

Afri-Investment House 

Plot 2669, Aguiyi-Ironsi Street 

Maitama

Abuja

Nigeria

 

T: + 09-2912127

E: banwigho@banwo-ighodalo.com

W: www.banwo-ighodalo.com