Aluko & Oyebode

Nigeria

Address:
1 Murtala Muhammed Drive
Ikoyi, Lagos
Nigeria

+234 1 462 8360-71

+44 207 681 3402


Key contacts:

Chairman: Gbenga Oyebode
Contact this lawyer
Managing Partner: Kofo Dosekun
Contact this lawyer
Senior Partner: Babatunde Fagbohunlu (SAN)
Contact this lawyer
Senior Partner: Olubunmi Fayokun
Contact this lawyer

Quick facts:

Number of partners: 17
Other fee earners: 82
Languages: English, French, Yoruba, Igbo, Hausa


At Aluko & Oyebode, multi-national companies, local entrepreneurs and pro bono clients can expect the same level of world class legal services delivered with the highest ethical standards. As the largest full-service commercial law firm in Nigeria, we strive for excellence in everything we do. Clients come to us for our deep knowledge of Nigerian law as well as our breadth of international expertise – and an understanding of our clients’ industries that can only be borne of direct experience.

Our practice areas encompass the full range of corporate and commercial legal services, including Banking; Capital Markets; Competition & Anti-Trust; Corporate Services; Corporate Governance and Compliance; Employment, Immigration and Incentives; Energy and Natural Resources; Financial Institutions Advisory; Infrastructure Finance and PPP; Intellectual Property; International Trade; Litigation, Dispute Resolution & Risk Management; Mergers & Acquisitions; Private Equity; Privatisation & Public Procurement; Real Estate; Tax; Telecommunication; Media, Entertainment & Technology; Venture Technology & Emerging Growth Companies; and White Collar & Investigation.

  • Banking
  • Capital markets: Debt
  • Capital markets: Derivatives
  • Capital markets: Equity
  • Capital markets: High yield
  • Competition
  • Financial restructuring
  • Financial services regulatory
  • Investment funds
  • M&A
  • PPP/PFI
  • Private equity
  • Private equity funds
  • Project bonds
  • Project development
  • Project finance
  • Real estate finance
  • Restructuring and insolvency
  • Securitisation
  • Structured finance/securitisation
  • Trade finance

Energy and Natural Resources
Gbenga Oyebode
Gbenga.Oyebode@aluko-oyebode.com
Babatunde Fagbohunlu
Babatunde.Fagbohunlu@aluko-oyebode.com
Olubunmi Fayokun
Olubunmi.Fayokun@aluko-oyebode.com
Tonye Krukrubo
Tonye.Krukrubo@aluko-oyebode.com
Oghogho Makinde
Oghogho.Makinde@aluko-oyebode.com
Chukwuka Ikwuazom
Chukwuka.Ikwuazom@aluko-oyebode.com
Reginald Udom
Reginald.Udom@aluko-oyebode.com
Hamid Abdulkareem
Hamid.Abdulkareem@aluko-oyebode.com

Construction/Infrastructure:
Adeniyi Adegbonmire (SAN)
Adeniyi.Adegbonmire@aluko-oyebode.com
Oghogho Makinde
Oghogho.Makinde@aluko-oyebode.com
Oludare Senbore
Oludare.Senbore@aluko-oyebode.com

Financial Services:
Kofo Dosekun
Kofo.Dosekun@aluko-oyebode.com
Olubunmi Fayokun
Olubunmi.Fayokun@aluko-oyebode.com
Oghogho Makinde
Oghogho.Makinde@aluko-oyebode.com
Chukwuka Ikwuazom
Chukwuka.Ikwuazom@aluko-oyebode.com
Oludare Senbore
Oludare.Senbore@aluko-oyebode.com
Reginald Udom
Reginald.Udom@aluko-oyebode.com
Ayodeji Oyetunde
Ayodeji.Oyetunde@aluko-oyebode.com

Public Sectors:
Gbenga Oyebode
Gbenga.Oyebode@aluko-oyebode.com
Simon Obidairo
Simon.Obidairo@aluko-oyebode.com
Joke Aliu
Joke.Aliu@aluko-oyebode.com
Hamid Abdulkareem
Hamid.Abdulkareem@aluko-oyebode.com

Corporate Governance & Compliance
Sumbo Akintola
Sumbo.Akintola@aluko-oyebode.com
Simon Obidairo
Simon.Obidairo@aluko-oyebode.com

Power:
Olubunmi Fayokun
Olubunmi.Fayokun@aluko-oyebode.com
Oludare Senbore
Oludare.Senbore@aluko-oyebode.com

Technology, Media and Telecommunication:
Sumbo Akintola
Sumbo.Akintola@aluko-oyebode.com
Oghogho Makinde
Oghogho.Makinde@aluko-oyebode.com

Intellectual Property:
Mark Mordi
Mark.Mordi@aluko-oyebode.com
Uche Nwokocha
Uche.Nwokocha@aluko-oyebode.com

Recent Transactional Highlights:

  • Advised Access Bank Plc on its merger with Diamond Bank Plc.
  • Advised Skyway Aviation Handling Company on its merger with Skypower Aviation Handling Company as well as its subsequent IPO and Listing on The Nigerian Stock Exchange (the only IPO in the Nigerian capital market in the last 4 years).
  • Advised Unilever Plc on the Nigerian aspects of the US$8.1 Billion sale of its margarine and spreads business to KKR & Co.
  • Advised Access Bank Plc on a US$40 Million Green Bond issuance, the first ever Climate Bonds standard certified corporate green bonds to be issued in Africa.
  • Advised Union Bank of Nigeria Pc on the establishment of a ₦100 Billion (approx. US$280 Million) Debt Issuance Programme.
  • Lead counsel to International Flavours and Fragrances in  connection with the establishment of a US$1 Million world class research and development facility in Nigeria as a research and development hub for West Africa.
  • US$800 Million Eurobond Issuance by IHS Netherlands Holdco B.V.
  • Restructuring of US$1.97 Billion oil and gas acquisition facilities;
  • US$300 Million sale by Exxon Mobil Oil Corporation of its 60% equity stake in Mobil Oil Nigeria Plc to Nipco Plc;
  • US$600 Million Standard Advisory London Ltd restructuring of oil and gas acquisition facility;
  • Letshego Holdings’ acquisition of FBN Microfinance Bank; US$300 Million Eurobond Issuance by Access Bank Plc;
  • S$219 Million Commercial Paper Issuance by Rand Merchant Bank Nigeria;
  • US$125 Million Commercial Paper Upsizing by Guinness Nigeria;
  • 8 Miles LLP US$80 Million Equity Investment in Beloxxi Industries;

  • Agriculture
  • Aviation
  • Banking
  • Construction and materials
  • Consumer goods and services
  • Energy
  • Financial services
  • Food and beverage
  • Government and public policy
  • Industrials
  • Insurance
  • Investment management
  • Media
  • Mining
  • Natural resources
  • Oil and gas
  • Real estate
  • Shipping
  • Social infrastructure
  • Tech and telecoms
  • Tourism
  • Transport
  • Utilities

1, Murtala Muhammed Drive
(formerly Bank Road), Ikoyi
Lagos, 234
Nigeria

T: +234 1 462 8360-71
F: +44 207 681 3402 
E: ao@aluko-oyebode.com
W: www.aluko-oyebode.com 

3rd Floor, Plot 173,
Sani Abacha Road
GRA Phase III, Port Harcourt
Rivers State, 234
Nigeria

T: +234 703 192 2607
F: +44 207 681 3402

Afri Investment House
2nd Floor, Right Wing No. 50,
Aguiyi Ironsi Street, Maitama
Abuja, 234
Nigeria

T: +234 9 292 1083
F: +44 207 681 3402